Specialist Classes at Seward

Classes outside of the students' homeroom are called "specialists" because students receive instruction in a 'special' curriculum content. Specialist teachers generally hold K - 12 teaching licenses specific to their content area. These classes are sometimes referred to as "preps" because the time students are with the specialist instructor is also the time the elementary classroom teacher has to 'prepare' for their lessons without students present.
There are 5 specialist classes that Children's House through E-2 students at Seward attend throughout the year. Middle school students attend classes taught by some of the specialists as an elective for their 6th hour class.

Click on Meet our Specialists to the right to learn more about our specialists and access their class websites.

Library Media Specialist:  Karin Bernal
email: karin.bernal@mpls.k12.mn.us

Physical Education:  Jennifer Engelken
email: Jennifer.Engelken@mpls.k12.mn.us

Music:  Kirsten Vezina
email: kirsten.vezina@mpls.k12.mn.us

Science (Children's House - High-5 and Kindergarten:  Angela Olson
email: angela.olson@mpls.k12.mn.us

Science (E1 & E2):  Karen Utter
email: karen.utter@mpls.k12.mn.us

Art:  Donna Schloer
email: donna.schloer@mpls.k12.mn.us

Health:  Jody Volk
email: jody.volk@mpls.k12.mn.us