Hi my name is Lynda Ott

    I am delighted to be back at Seward this year teaching 4th and 5th grades in our Montessori Program.  This marks my 14th year teaching in Minneapolis, my seventh  year at  Seward.     

     I hold a BA in Interpersonal Communications with a minor in Social Studies from Augsburg College and an  MEd from the U of M in Elementary Education.   My additional post graduate work has been in Special Education at the U of M  and Reading at Hamline College.  My Montessori training was taken at the University of New Rochelle at the New York Center for Montessori Teacher Education.                                                           

Chicago's Millennium Park with Peter and Daniel

    Minneapolis is a great place to live and raise children. My husband, Peter, and I lived in Minneapolis for 32 years and sent our two sons to Minneapolis Public Schools.  Both sons received a quality education and had quality teachers who helped shape them as teenagers and young adults.  I am grateful for the many great teachers and schools they had here in Minneapolis! 

    Our youngest son participated in Minnesota and National History Day in Middle School through High School.    He really found his calling through the program and majored in History at the University of MN at Morris.  Daniel moved to Chicago with his wife, Cassie, to  attend Loyola University on a full ride.  This spring he should have earned his Doctorate

Our Favorite Activity on Cape Cod
Ready to go Clamming on Cape Cod
of Public History. It all started in a Minneapolis Public School classroom with a passionate teacher admonishing his students with "You can go to Nationals if you are willing to do the work!".  

     Our other son, Nathan, majored in Political Science at Denver University.  He now works in a public school in Denver as a behavioral interventionist and a technology lead. It is fun to talk "shop" with him as he is learning to inspire students to apply themselves to learning.  

     Besides our sons we have two small dogs who help make up our family. Peter and I walk Murphy and Bailey nightly around our neighborhood in Burnsville (we moved here two years ago). However, we love to bike the wonderful bike trails in Minneapolis.  We enjoy taking the Greenway out to Hopkins on the weekends or biking

With Nathan on a balcony in Cortona, Italy
along Minnehaha Creek to the Falls to eat at Sea Salt (both Nathan and Daniel worked there for many years).

     In the summer we like to travel to see our sons either visiting the busy city of Chicago or hiking in the mountains near Denver.  We also visit  Peter's family who live in the East.  Our favoirtie family activity there is clamming and then making clam chowder.

 My other interests include gardening,  technology, finding gluten and lactose free recipes and trying them out, and doing the Saturday morning Tribune Crossword Puzzle.  I also belong to a Seward book club.