Specialist Classes at Seward
singers_4.jpg

Classes outside of the students' homeroom are called "specialists" because students receive instruction in a 'special' curriculum content. Specialist teachers generally hold K - 12 teaching licenses specific to their content area. These classes are sometimes referred to as "preps" because the time students are with the specialist instructor is also the time the elementary classroom teacher has to 'prepare' for their lessons without students present.
There are 5 specialist classes that Children's House through E-2 students at Seward attend throughout the year. Middle school students attend classes taught by some of the specialists as an elective for their 6th hour class.

Click on the classroom to the right to get an overview of what's happening in these classes.

Media Center  Sarah Rose
email: sarah.rose@mpls.k12.mn.us

Gym  Bill Garner
email: bill.garner@mpls.k12.mn.us

Music  Barbara Rice
email: barbara.rice@mpls.k12.mn.us

Science (E1 & E2)  Karen Utter
email: karen.utter@mpls.k12.mn.us

Art  Donna Schloer
email: donna.schloer@mpls.k12.mn.us

Health Jody Volk

email: jody.volk@mpls.k12.mn.us